Skip to content Skip to footer

Checkouts & Returns

Checkouts

A Wyoming library card must be presented to borrow library materials. A total of 50 items may be checked out per cardSome item types have specific checkout limits—see the chart below for details.

Checkout Periods and Limits

Books – (Fiction & Nonfiction)

  • Checkout Period – 3 weeks
  • Limit – 50

Magazines

  • Checkout Period – 3 weeks
  • Limit – 50

DVDs & Blu-rays (Movies)

  • Checkout Period – 2 weeks
  • Limit – 10

Video Games

  • Checkout Period – 2 weeks
  • Limit – 2

Music CDs

  • Checkout Period – 3 weeks
  • Limit – 50

Audiobooks & Juvenile Playaways

  • Checkout Period – 3 weeks
  • Limit – 50

eBooks*, eAudioBooks & eMagazines

  • Checkout Period – Varies
  • Limit – Varies

* Note: eBooks, eAudiobooks, and eMagazines do not count toward your 50 item limit. The number of eBooks available for checkout from Overdrive/Libby varies.

Returns

Library items may be returned to any library branch (Casper Main Branch, Edgerton, Bookmobile), or any Wyoming public library. At the main library, drop boxes are located at the main checkout desk, as well as an outside book-drop on the east side of the library. Items returned in the book drop after the library closes will be credited as having been returned that business day.

Holds

Library items that are already checked out or not yet available may be placed on hold. You will be added to the waiting list and notified by phone, email, or text message when the item is ready to pick up.

  • Holds can be placed in person, by phone, or through the Library Catalog
  • Items will be available to pick up for three days at the location of your choice
  • To sign up for text or email alerts, visit My Account or ask a librarian

Renewals

Most items will renew automatically on your account. One day before items are due, our system will check your account for eligible items and auto-renew them. Each item can be renewed twice, unless a hold has been placed on the item. You will be notified by text, email, or phone if your items are unable to be renewed.

Fines, Fees & Charges

There are NO late fees for overdue items. You will only be charged for long overdue or missing items. You will be notified of overdue items by mail, email, or text message, depending on what contact information you have provided. To change how you are notified of overdue materials, please see a library staff member, Log In to your account (you will need your library card number and PIN), or call (307) 577-7323.

Collections

When an item is 42 days overdue, a $10 late fee will be assessed and the account will be turned over to a collection agency.

Lost & Damaged Items

You are responsible for all items checked out on your library card. Lost and damaged items will be billed at replacement cost plus a $5 processing fee. The parent or guardian signing a minor’s library card application form is responsible for all items checked out on the minor’s card, including any fees for lost or damaged items.